Announcing the Finalists of the 2015 Story Starters Contest!

Story Starters

The list is in, and we are proud to announce the 2015 finalists!


Our Story Starters judge — Canadian author, teacher, poet James Dewar (applause!) — had a tough job! From the 27 long-listed pieces, James selected the following writers who should be commended for their talent, bravery and stamina.


The 2015 Story Starters Contest finalists are:


June Aming

Jean L. Burbidge

Victoria Cormier

Lesley Donaldson

Diane Ferguson

Quentin Holmes

Alexandra Kasatkina

Denise Kemp

John Matsui

Vera Nenos

Y.W. Sawh

Special thanks again to our awesome artists, Lorette Luzajic, Joe Cebek, Joanna Malcolm and Christine Kim. Final voting will take place on Friday, April 24th and Saturday, April 25th.


Congratulations to our finalists (more applause!), and good luck!

Festival of Authors

Want to weigh in on the final vote? Buy your ticket to the Festival of Authors event!

This open-to-the-public event unfolds Friday April 24th at 7pm and features author readings and interviews, sweet treats and exciting prizes. Don’t miss this fun mix-and-mingle with great Canadians authors!

Buy your ticket online, or pay at the door.

Festival of Authors Tickets

  • Thank you very much for choosing me as a finalist in this contest. The talents artists who submitted their work stirred up everyone’s imagination. I enjoyed reading all the submissions. Good luck to everyone on the list!

  • I remembered entering but then forgot about it. Many thanks for selecting me among the finalists.

  • I’m so happy to have been chosen as a finalist…thank you! Congratulations, all the finalists!…looking forward to the event tonight… 🙂

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

back to top