2016 Story Starters Finalists

The list is in, and we are proud to announce the 2016 Story Starters finalists!

Our Story Starters judge — Canadian author, teacher, poet James Dewar  — had an even tougher job than in previous years. This year, there were 64 long-listed pieces (submitted between September 1 and February 29) – about 268  entries in all! From those 64 long-listed pieces, James selected the following writers who should be commended for their talent, bravery and unique ability to discover a story within another artist’s creation.

The 2016 Story Starters Contest finalists are:

Mel E. Cober
Michelle Dinnick-Schulze
Graham Ducker
Diane Ferguson
Silke Force
Stephanie G.
Denise Kemp
Beth L.
Kevin Liu
Tina Liu
Dale R. Long
Lillian Necakov
Nancy Pazner
Lori Twining
Herb Ware
C. Wells

Extra congratulations to Beth L. and Lori Twining, with two short-listed entries each!

Special thanks again to our spectacular artists, Carin Makuz, Erika Takács, Iwona Dufaj, Sally Thurlow, Annabelle Murray and Anja Kooistra. Final voting will take place at the Saturday, April 30th evening’s Festival of Authors (not too late to buy your ticket or pay at the door) and on the conference day, Sunday, May 1st.

Congratulations to our finalists and good luck!

  • Lillian Necakov May 5, 2016 at 2:13 pm


    When will the winners of the contest be announced? I was unable to attend the conference.

    Thanks so much.



    • Cynthia Englert May 6, 2016 at 8:29 am

      Hello, Lillian. Thanks for your inquiry! We posted the winners on Facebook and Twitter this week, as well as sent out an e-blast. And we’ll be posting to this website soon.

      Best, Cynthia.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

back to top