Day: May 6, 2016

2016 Story Starters Contest Winners

Congratulations! Chosen from a very high caliber of written pieces (275 submitted in total), we have 6 winners to announce for our 2016 Story Starters Contest, all chosen by our attendees over the two Conference days. Many thanks to the Story Starters Judge, Canadian author, teacher, poet James Dewar for narrowing a long-list of 64…

Read Article →
Cornerstone Award Winner for 2016 – Descant

The ONTARIO WRITERS’ CONFERENCE Cornerstone Award for 2016 has been awarded to long-lived Canadian Literary Journal Descant Magazine, which operated from 1970 until March of 2015. Longtime Editor-in-Chief Karen Mulhallen accepted this honour on the organization’s behalf. The list of contributors to Descant includes numerous now-famous Canadian authors including Margaret Atwood, bill bissett, Anne Carson,…

Read Article →
back to top