2017 Story Starters Longlist (Semi-Finalists)

Congratulations to our 2017 Story Starters Semi-Finalists!


For the sixth time, The Ontario Writers’ Conference has partnered with visual artists of all sorts in the form of our Story Starters Contest – run October, November, December of 2016 and January, February of 2017. On the first of each month, our website featured an extraordinary work by a local artist and we invite writers from everywhere and of all ages to enter a piece of writing inspired by that work (entry-free).

By taking inspiration from the art, writing a short piece (100 words maximum) and posting it in the comment section of our entry page, more than 180 writers created works of poetry, prose, dialogue, haiku, etc. for a chance to impress that artist and win a prize for that month.

Semi-Finalists for each month will be reduced to the Top Three Finalists by our our final-round judge, Canadian Poet James Dewar and voting for the winner by attendees will take place from displayed entries at the 2017 FESTIVAL OF AUTHORS EVENING on Friday, March 31st (in Pickering, Ontario; tickets available on our website at FoA). Artist-related prizes will be awarded thereafter.

Selected from entries over the five month period and  inspired by the Story Starters artworks of the talented Pamela Meacher, Gretel Boose, Cheryl Andrews, Rich Helms and Barbara Hunt, the longlist of semi-finalists for our 2017 competition is as follows:

A.Salituro (Feb 26)

Ann Rocchi (Jan 27, Feb 28)

Beth L. (Nov 18, Dec. 22)

Brenda Martin (Jan 5)

Carly Zee (Dec 12)

Carolyn Topdjian (Feb 1)

Christine dela Cruz (Nov 30)

Dr. Velma McClymont (Feb 1)

Denise Kemp (Nov 2)

Herb Ware (Oct 31)

Jenny Lamothe (Feb 25)

Joanne Lecuyer (Feb 1)

Kathleen Boyle Hatcher (Oct. 16, Jan 2)

Kathryn Crow (Nov 30)

Kat McNichol (Nov 16)

Kris Shaw (Jan 11)

Laura Leavens (Oct 3, Nov 22, Jan 29)

Laura Wythe (Oct 22, Nov 2)

Leah Murray (Jan 2)

Lesley Wellington (Jan 31)

Lisa Reynolds (Oct 31 Nov 5)

Liz Bugg (Nov 1)

Liz McAdams (Dec 12)

Luke Maynard (Oct 17)

Marie Beswick-Arthur (Jan 1)

Mary Lennox (Dec 8)

Mel E. Cober (Feb 10)

Michelle Dinnick (Nov 4)

Natalie May Watt (Nov 30)

Patricia von Holstein-Rathlou (Feb 28)

Raviraj (Dec 16)

Renee Tavascia (Jan 31)

Riker Willson (Dec 23)

Robin Martin (Oct 22, Jan 1)

Shantell Powell (Feb 21)

Shari Simpson (Dec 6)

Sophie (Oct 30 Nov 19)

Steve J (Dec 31)

T Lundy (Jan 5)

Tanya Presse (Oct 2)

Vera (Dec 18)

Wanda Phillips (Feb 1)

ZhKamocki (Dec 15)

Congratulations to all who entered!


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

back to top