Moose Factory 2017 Story Starters Contest Winners

The Moose Factory Story Starters winners were announced on Friday, August 25th at the Cree Village Eco-Lodge (and livestreamed on the OWC Facebook page where they can still be viewed). From just under 100 entries received in a 9 week period, 16 finalists emerged, from which 3 winners and 4 honourable mentions were selected by our judges, Canadian author/teacher/mentor Ruth E. Walker and senior development officer of the MoCreebec Eeyoud Council, Jean Pierre Chabot. We wish to thank them for their discernment and care. We would also like to thank Abigail Taylor Rickards and Julia Martens of the Moose Factory Photography Club and the Hudsons Bay Company Archives (Archives of Manitoba) for their evocative photographic contributions.  

To celebrate this special sesquicentennial year, the OWC and the MoCreebec Eeyoud Council ran a very special version of our Story Starters Contest to encourage storytelling through the medium of writing in order to promote creative writing and storytelling initiatives for Canada 150 and Ontario 150 all culminating in the Moose Factory version of an Ontario Writers’ Conference (August 23-25, 2017).


June Story Starter: Spring on Ice Road

Winner – Kylie Burns

Honourable Mention – Colleen Heal


June/July Story Starter: Moose Factory Waterworks 1934

Winner – Christina Bondi

Honourable Mentions – Jeanette Winsor, Gwen Tuinman


July/August Story Starter: Hudson’s Bay Houses

Winner – Cheryl Antao-Xavier

Honourable Mention – Robb Ainley


Congratulations to all the winners and to all the brave writers who submitted work. Write on!

One Comment

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

back to top